Tearing down walls – one book and one tweet at a time

I have the feeling I spend the last two weeks on Twitter. Not for The Reading Castle or literature though, but for diversity and about the craziness of the current political situation. Everything else seems unimportant when you read about a purge of the white house’s senior staff, right wing politicians taking their place, the travel ban for citizens of certain countries and countless other unbelievable biases. And, everything seems to be reasonable when you accept an “alternative truth”. Science Fiction, anyone?

16299532_1858332227769819_348140160418509611_n

Even more interesting is how the world reacts to it. While supporters of our new president seemed to see it justified to burn mosques and take pride in their racism and religious prejudice, the better part of Americans stood up for moral, their neighbors of every color, heritage and believe and the truth. With the day of the women’s marches my believe in this world, this country and the American people started to mend.

I want to stand against this madness. Not because I’m an immigrant myself, but because I believe in a diverse world. We teach our daughter acceptance and tolerance, kindness and thoughtfulness. Our children are watching. They might not understand yet, but they see what the political leadership is doing, that people are suffering while wrongs are justified with “alternative truths”. And they see how we are reacting. It’s more important them ever to teach them about other cultures and diversity. To stand for human rights, for refugees, women, scientists, our neighbors, kids and everyone else. I’m proud that the Reading Castle works with publishers that understand and support diverse children books. I’m sure these books will be an important part of making our children “worldcitizen”, who stand up for injustice and tear down walls.

Why I’m writing this? As an explanation. For me it’s not an alternative to keep this blog free of political opinions. What’s happening right now is just too important. But I’m spending too much time on Twitter and Facebook already, so I chose to just keep my Twitter account @readingcastle for literature only with the occasional side blow. If you are curious about my political opinion you can always follow me @lenalandwerth. If we are friends on Facebook you’ll see that it’s just not possible to stay out of the discussion right now 🙂

Thanks for your understanding!

Leave a Reply

